Romania in the orange zone in the new categorization of countries, in force on December 23

Romania has moved into the orange zone in the new categorization of countries announced on Monday by the Cypriot authorities. The new categorization came into effect on December 23.

Following a decision of the Council of Ministers, on February 18, 2021, relating to the Action Plan for the gradual resumption of flights and the reopening of airports, the Epidemiological Watch Unit of the Ministry of Health carried out a reassessment of the situation. epidemiological situation in various countries regarding COVID-19.

The categorization of the countries of the European Union and the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) as well as Switzerland, in the green, orange or red categories, is based on that of the European Center for Prevention and Control of diseases (ECDC).

Regarding third countries (United Kingdom, Russia, Ukraine, Israel, Lebanon, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, United States of America, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrain) , in addition to Kuwait and Canada from 1/6/21 and to Oman from 15/10/2021, as well as the countries included in the updated list of Council Recommendation (EU) 2021/89 European regarding the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions for non-essential travel within the EU, these are epidemiologically assessed by the Ministry of Health and are classified in the green, orange and red categories.

The following country categorization, based on the epidemiological risk assessment, is extremely dynamic and can be modified at any time depending on the evolution of the pandemic and the evolution of epidemiological data. For this reason, new data will be announced and the list of countries will be updated frequently.

Green box countries – Low risk countries at the current stage

Third countries: United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Kuwait, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia

Please note that passengers arriving from green category countries are not required to hold a COVID-19 test certificate or self-isolate.

Orange category countries – Countries with possibly low risk but greater uncertainty compared to the green category

Member States of the European Union: Greece, Romania
Third countries: Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macao), Colombia, New Zealand, Uruguay, Rwanda
It should be noted that passengers coming from countries in the orange category will have to undergo a PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure and have a certificate indicating a negative PCR result.

Countries in the red category – Countries at increased risk compared to the green and orange categories

European Union Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland
Small States: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican, San Marino
Schengen members: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway
Third countries: Egypt, Argentina, Armenia, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, Serbia, Chile

It should be noted that passengers coming from countries in the red category will have to: a) undergo a PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure proving a negative PCR result and b) undergo a laboratory test upon arrival in the Republic of Cyprus.
The cost of the examination will be borne by him and, in addition, these people must remain in isolation until the result of the test is published.

Gray category countries (special authorization)

Countries that are not mentioned in the above categories (green, orange and red) are considered to be in the gray category (special authorization). For countries in the gray category, entry into the Republic of Cyprus is only permitted for the following categories of passengers:

1. Cypriot citizens and family members (foreign spouses and their minor children),
2. European citizens and citizens of the countries of the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and Switzerland,
3. Persons residing legally in the Republic,
4. Persons authorized to enter the Republic under the Vienna Convention, and
5. Third-country nationals permitted to enter the Republic of Cyprus following special permission from the Republic, as defined in the Quarantine Decree (N.9) of 2021, as amended from time to time.
Passengers arriving in the Republic of Cyprus from countries in the gray category (special permission) must remain in mandatory self-isolation or mandatory quarantine for a period of fourteen (14) days or alternatively, in mandatory self-isolation or mandatory quarantine mandatory for a period of seven (7) days provided they undergo another Covid-19 test (at their expense) on the 7th day and the result comes back negative.

In addition, for all categories (green, orange, red and grey) passengers who meet the conditions for a test in Cyprus instead of the country of departure, are listed on the following link: /en /passengers-eligible-for-a-test
It should be noted that the above country categorization will come into effect on December 16, 2021.

Conditions applied to vaccinated passengers:

The conditions applied to vaccinated persons or persons who have recovered from COVID-19, so that they can travel to the Republic, from any country of departure, without having to meet the requirements of the respective category, eg test RT-PCR or requirement for self-isolation/quarantine, etc. or the issuance of a special permit, for the purposes of entry into the Republic are described in the following link:
Given the data obtained regarding the new variant of the coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 B.1.1.529, which was initially detected in Botswana and raised alarm due to the large number of mutations it carries and for the preservation of public health, the Ministry of Health informs that as of November 26, 2021:

i) In addition to the measures already applicable, which are not affected, all persons entering the Republic through the airport, regardless of the country of departure and whether or not they hold a valid full vaccination certificate or a valid COVID-19 recovery certificate or negative lab test upon departure, from December 6, 2021 (12:01 a.m.) to January 10, 2022 (11:59 p.m.), they will undergo a PCR diagnostic test for COVID-19 upon departure. their arrival at the airports of the Republic. The cost of the PCR diagnostic test for COVID-19 will be borne by the passenger.
ii) The arrival and/or entry into the Republic of any person who, during the last 14 days preceding his arrival in the Republic, has resided or transited through the territory of the following countries is prohibited:
South Africa,
Kingdom of Eswatini,
For more information on who is exempt from the ban and how to proceed, please see:
It is also noted that all passengers, regardless of country category, including those holding a valid vaccination certificate, are required to apply for the CyprusFlightPass within 48 hours before their flight departs. In addition, for the protection of public health and the monitoring of the epidemiological situation, passengers on selected flights (including passengers with vaccination certificates) may undergo a random molecular laboratory test carried out by the Ministry of Health.

Comments are closed.