Cyprus introduces new categorization of entry restrictions

The government of Cyprus has approved the amended action plan for resuming flights at airports, and has replaced the groups that are currently used to allow internationals to enter Cyprus with four other categories.

Earlier on Friday, reported that internationals wishing to enter Cyprus from March 1, 2021, will be allowed to do so, without having to show a negative PCR test result, if they have been vaccinated against the disease, Transport Minister Yiannis Karousos revealed.

“The amended action plan is expected to further boost airlines’ interest in making additional flights to Cyprus, improving connectivity and increasing passenger traffic,” he added. said the minister.

According to the last Cypriot government, category A will be replaced by the “green box”. Countries included in this group will not be required to undergo any testing procedure or quarantine measures upon arrival in Cyprus.

Category B, currently in use, will be replaced by the “amber box”. Citizens of countries listed in this category will be required to test negative for the coronavirus, dating within 72 hours.

As for category C, it will be replaced by the “red category”. Citizens of countries in this category will be required to present two negative results of the PCR test. However, citizens of these countries will not be required to follow the quarantine rules.

The last category is the “gray”, also known as the “special permit category”. Travelers arriving to Cyprus from any country included in this group will be required to test negative for the coronavirus and fulfill the quarantine requirements introduced by the Cyprus Ministry of Health.

Countries will be ranked based on the weekly assessment report of the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

The countries of the European Union, the United Kingdom, the European economic countries, Switzerland, land on the European Council group of third countries, as well as Ukraine, Russia, Israel, the United Arab Emirates, Lebanon , Jordan, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and Belarus, will be classified in the green, orange and red groups.

As for countries not mentioned above, they will be placed in the gray category, while travelers from these countries will be required to have a special permit to enter Cyprus.

Comments are closed.