Authorities announce new categorization of countries

The Cypriot Ministry of Health announced on Monday a new categorization of countries based on their epidemiological figures, which will come into force on July 22. Twelve countries are moved to new categories.

In particular Canada, Serbia, North Macedonia have moved from the amber category to green.
Liechtenstein Denmark, France and Finland have moved from green to the amber category. Malta is in the red category of green and the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Andorra and South Korea are in the red category of amber.

With regard to third countries (United Kingdom, Russia, Ukraine, Israel, Lebanon, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, United States Armenia, Georgia and Bahrain as well as Kuwait and Canada to 01/06/21) and other countries on the basis of the opinions of the European Council, they are assessed by the Ministry of Health in the green, orange and red zone.

The green zone includes Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Estonia, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, Czech Republic , Monaco, Vatican City, Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, Australia, North Macedonia, Jordan, Israel, Canada, New Zealand, Serbia and Singapore.

Passengers from the above countries do not need to show a covid result or self-isolate.

Amber zone countries include Belgium, France, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, Finland, Liechtenstein, Azerbaijan, United States, Japan, Qatar, China, Lebanon and Saudi Arabia. Passengers entering Cyprus must undergo a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival.

Cypriot citizens and their spouses, citizens who fall under the Geneva Convention, residents of Cyprus can be tested upon arrival.

They have to pay the cost and isolate themselves while they wait for the outcome to return.

Red zone countries include Spain, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Andorra, San Marino, Egypt, Albania, Armenia, Bosnia, Georgia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Kuwait, Belarus, Montenegro, Moldova, Bahrain, Brunei, South Korea, Ukraine and Russia.

Passengers must present a negative PCR test 72 hours before departure and take the test in Cyprus also upon arrival.

They pay the cost and isolate until the test result is released.

Cypriot citizens and their spouses, citizens who fall under the Geneva Convention, residents of Cyprus must self-isolate for 72 hours and then have to pass the PCR test. If the test is negative, they can come out of isolation.

Countries with special authorization (gray area) include countries that do not fall into the 3 categories above. Cypriot citizens and their spouses as well as EU or EEA citizens, residents of Cyprus or those falling under the Geneva Convention are allowed to enter but must present a negative PCR test 72 hours before their arrival on the island. Cypriot citizens can take the test upon arrival.
All of the above passengers must remain in isolation for 14 days or 7 days if their PCR is negative on day 7.

All passengers who are vaccinated with vaccines authorized by EMA or Sinopharm or Sinovac are allowed entry if arriving from EU or EEA countries, Switzerland, Israel, UK, Russia, Arab Emirates United, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Serbia, Qatar, Bahrain, USA, Armenia, Georgia, Canada, Kuwait and China.

All passengers must complete the CyprusFlightPass 48 hours before departure.

Comments are closed.